First Baptist Cleveland is Jesus-ruled and Bible-governed. The church is Pastor/Staff-led, Deacon-served, lay team operated and congregationally approved. The church is member-gifted and ministerially focused on fulfilling the Great Commission. 

Servant leadership is the primary purpose of a Deacon at First Baptist Cleveland. Deacons serve in a myriad of important ministry roles, including encouragement, prayer, visitation, pastoral care and practical help in areas related to serving the church body and community.

Biblical Qualifications

The Bible requires deacons to demonstrate certain qualities; respect, integrity, self-control, generosity, spiritual maturity, husband of one wife, household leader, etc. (1 Timothy 3, Titus 1) Deacons are also expected to be members of the church, and have a history of serving and giving to the church.

  • Follower of Jesus
  • Husband of one wife
  • A person who lives above reproach
  • Church Membership
  • Actively serving in the church
  • History of giving

The opportunity to nominate deacons is open through October 2023.

Deacons currently serving

  • Drew Akins
  • Nat Akiona
  • Dan Allison
  • Brad Bennett
  • Derrick Burrell
  • David Chaffin
  • Shane Clark
  • David Craig
  • Adam Elder
  • Melvin Elder
  • Ron England
  • Pat Ensley
  • J.R. Fulbright
  • Thomas Fulbright
  • Shane Gibson
  • Seth Goudzward
  • Chris Green
  • Sam Greene
  • Dave Gregory
  • Josh Gregory
  • Tim Gunnell
  • David Hicks
  • Eric Houston
  • Chris Jackson
  • Jim Kerr
  • Benny Kirksey
  • John Maupin
  • Bob McCay
  • John McIntosh
  • Barry Morrow
  • Roger Nipper
  • Terry Pierce
  • Mark Pirkle
  • Wayne Richardson
  • Larry Rogers
  • Matt Sharp
  • Mike Sharp – Chairman
  • Mitchell Simpson
  • Wes Smith
  • Jim Smith
  • Steven Thompson
  • Jim Tindal
  • Tim Trotter
  • Tommy Walker – Secretary
  • Ken Wallace
  • Mike Wallace
  • Ted Watson
  • Chris Wilds – Vice Chairman
  • Andy Williams
No data was found